Branches of Being…

18 10 2007

 I wanted to walk away from this first fruit Love and say it is too much for me. Yet as I take another look it seems like the day to begin tackling this. So I began to research the passage Gal 5:22. Looking at Expositor’s Bible Commentary they break this “Fruits of the Spirit” into three parts. The first set is focused toward God, the second set is concerned with our relationship with others, the third and final set concerns the Christian himself.  

GAL 5:22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, (God focused)

patience, kindness, goodness, (Other focused)

faithfulness, 23 gentleness and self-control. (Self focused) 

Interesting?  I guess I should check into this more, does scripture support this? If it does, I will look at them from a different light. It would make so much sense, love, joy and peace are focused on God.  It also makes these fruits more then a list of attributes and more within my grasp. So let’s begin by looking at love… In my Thompson Chain reference from Gal 5:22 – Spiritual love you are sent to Eph 3:17-18. So let’s look at that passage.  

Eph 3:16 I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, 17 so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, 18 may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, 19 and to know this love that surpasses knowledge–that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God. (NIV) 

This is all about God’s love, not about me.

How does this change my doing attitude? Love, joy and peace aren’t about me, they are all about what happens when I focus on God. I know “God is love”, that it is God who “makes my joy complete” and it is God who “gives me the peace that passes all understanding”. These are all straight scripture.  God’s love allows me to “be”, not my love. My love ends in doing. As I focus on God I lose myself and receive the love of God that allows me to thrive!

          As I focus on God I exchange my sorrow for joy. As I focus on God I find a profound peace that calms the depths of the storms within me when my doing has miss focused me. I begin “being” when I focus on God. Amazing!!!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

