Patience this wonderful elusive fruit

24 11 2007

jesus-and-child.gif 

            What is patience? As I look in the dictionary the thing that jumps out at me is that even the world understands patience is a state of being. We work so hard to do patient, when in reality we have to be patient.

Looking at the first use of patience is found in Proverbs 19:11 where we are told a man’s wisdom gives him patience; it is his glory to overlook an offense. I ask myself how do we be patient. A better question is how do I become patient. I believe the only way that I can do it is through the Holy Spirit. If the spirit does not empower me to be patient then I can’t be patient at all. Looking again at scripture.

    1TI 1:15-16 Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners–of whom I am the worst. But for that very reason I was shown mercy so that in me, the worst of sinners, Christ Jesus might display his unlimited patience as an example for those who would believe on him and receive eternal life.

            I believe that when we allow patience; this wonderful and elusive fruit of the spirit to take root in us, then we come to a place where Christ’s patience can be displayed through us in the lives of those around us. The ultimate goal of Christ’s patience with us was to reveal his Father’s love and grace to us through the cross. Often when we have spirit driven patience with others, they are also driven to the cross and the love on God for them as well.

            The next time life cries out for patience I will remember Christ and allow patience this wonderful elusive fruit of the spirit to rise up and drive me back to the cross!

Blessings & patience,

Mikki

Actions

Information

One response

22 03 2008
krysanthemum

thanx for this post Godmust have DEFINITELY led me here ’cause i’ve been having issues that, after reading this, i now understand require patience. And now, when i try to bring someone to the Lord, and they say that they’ve sinned too much and God must hate them, i’ll tell them about God’s patience. Thank u again, God Bless ^^.

Leave a Reply

