Gentleness ~ a new concept!

11 12 2007

jesus-and-child.gif

            I awoke today struggling with feelings as we all do. The reasons are so numerous: relationships, commitments and tasks cause feelings that are unresolved within us. How can gentleness survive in these conditions?

            Apart from Christ, I can do nothing, the Bible tells us. As I looked beyond myself at the topic gentleness, I went to my NIV concordance looking to the Bible for answers. I found the word gentleness is only used six times in all of the Bible. Gentleness is a concept found only in the New Testament, a real surprise to me. The concept of gentleness is only 2000 years old, bringing me to conclude that without Christ and the empowerment of the Holy Spirit,true gentleness is not possible.

            2CO 10:1 By the meekness and gentleness of Christ, I appeal to you–I, Paul, who am “timid” when face to face with you, but “bold” when away!

Here in this first occurrence of the word gentleness in the Bible, Paul shares this truth: Christ is his source for his interacting with others. Paul’s actions are well documented both as Saul, where he was a zealot for God and then as Paul, after his encounter with Christ, where he put down the flesh and took up the gentleness of Christ.

            We must do this same thing, putting away the flesh and embracing the gentleness of Christ. I know as I look at the rest of my day, I cannot take another step without the gentleness of Christ taking up residence in me.

            Lord in heaven, I come before you and ask for your strength to let go of the flesh and to walk into the gentleness of Christ through the Spirit’s empowerment! In Jesus Name I pray ~ Amen.

Walking in the gentleness of Christ,

Mikki

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

