Living with Temptation

2 07 2008

            Once again I am considering the words in 1 Corinthians 10:13. It seems that every time I ask the Lord where to study, He takes me back to the same verse over and over again.

            For the first time, I didn’t bock, complaining to the Lord about having to look at the same passage; I just turned there.

 1 Corinthians 10:13 “No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it.”

             I have been struggling with feeling like I am not on the same page as all my friends: I’m not excited about life in general, not excited about revival, and not excited to read all the books I am handed with the promise of what an impact they will have on my life. I received two books from Jack Hayford for Christmas and haven’t opened them; they on a stack of books that I have been given but haven’t yet read. I just don’t see the point. Do the people giving me books really care about me? The truth is some don’t know me, so how can they help me?

            I am so disconnected it just isn’t funny right now. Because I am not where others are, I have disconnected from them, saying, “God has called me to another way, but please love me anyway!” I have asked them to come with me, yet they don’t have any interest to go. Over the years others have asked me if I really hear God.

             Looking anew at 1 Corinthians 10, I realize that I have to choose not to disconnect from others. As I work to devote my life to God, I need to recognize that in connecting with others I share God’s love, I have a mission to find the joy of the Lord! I press into this, not always as much as I should, yet I also know it is the call upon my life.

          To interact with the Lord is the call upon my life; it is all I care about when I allow the world to fall away. You might call me a strange bird, but I am so interested in the Lord that I have forsaken all else. I have left family and friends for God, knowing that he is all there is of value. Yes, I am married. I rejoice in this precious gift, yet if I have to choose between my husband and my Lord, my husband is a distant second to my Lord.

           I get off track sometimes when life throws me a curve. I forget God just like the next person, but I have learned to come back to God quickly, letting go of the plans that are not His will. I want to stay so connected with God that I know when I take one single step off course.

           Right now, I am feeling adrift in the sea, not knowing which way land is. I am sitting questioning; do I really hear God? That is how it is when you are in the midst of temptation, when it surrounds you on every side. My former boss was the person who last questioned me about claiming to hear God. . Since we were never on the same page, was she the one who was hearing from God?

         I heard God speaking to me just this morning when I turned to 1 Corinthians 10. I must resist the temptation to destroy my relationship with the Lord. I must stand on the truth that I hear from my Heavenly Father, and when I do, I am quick to turn, making changes according to His directions.

Lord, you are the rudder of my life. I will turn when and where you call me to turn, I will dance when you call me to dance, and I will sing when you call me to sing, opening my mouth on behalf of my King!

 

 Blessings and Complete Joy,

Mikki

 

Please check out our new Prayer Post page created for your personal & corporate prayer requests! God cares for you!

 

This blog is part of the ministry of Complete Joy and is published each Tuesday and Saturday, usually by noon Pacific Time. If you would like to visit our Web site for more encouragement and teaching, please go to: http://www.completejoy.org.

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

