Thanksgiving

25 11 2008

thanksgiving-blessing

     We are just days away from Thanksgiving.   Oh, how wonderful it is to have a time to give thanks. Our memory verse for November is “Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good; His love endures forever.” Psalms 118:29

 

            This verse reminds me to give thanks to the Lord, not just on Thanksgiving but every day. I can be thankful if I chose to be every day of my life! Oh, what blessing is this thought: “His love endures for ever!”

 

            The way I give thanks changes, transitions if you will, according to how I feel. Some days I am thankful with shouts of joy; other days my thanksgiving is nothing more than a smile. Then there are those days when life has me so consumed, thankfulness is a distant memory.

           

            As I come to this Thanksgiving, I am choosing to have an attitude of gratitude. I am choosing to be thankful before the day starts.

 

            My thanksgiving will not be the Norman Rockwell kind of Thanksgiving, where we have a table full of food and family surrounding it; rather, my Thanksgiving will be celebrated with my husband and daughter at a restaurant about 11a.m., and then we will come home, being together with a daughter we don’t often see. I remind myself of the positives and don’t allow my attitude to be controlled by my feelings of disappointment.

 

            My feelings are based on the one holiday as I grew up that was the highlight of the year, Thanksgiving. We gathered with my half-brother’s family and had a giant meal together. We would get there around 11a.m. and eat for the rest of the day. All 10 of us kids would run around outside between meals, yelling and screaming at the top of our lungs until we were exhausted, then come in to watch football and one of my all-time favorite movies, Around the World in 80 Days. We didn’t have dessert until about 7p.m., and then would leave for home about 9:30p.m. and fall asleep on the way home with very full bellies.

 

            My childhood memories of Thanksgiving were many, and as an adult, nothing compares with them. I tried for many years to provide my children with the kind of Thanksgivings I had, until I realized that Thanksgiving is itself a special time that doe not need to be create. My efforts brought so much stress to the family and made the holiday so tense that it wasn’t worth the efforts. At first, after I had stopped creating Thanksgiving, I was depressed. Now depression has given way once more to thankfulness for the relationships we have and the time we spend together as a family.

 

            So as you look toward Thanksgiving, look to what you have, not what you don’t have, and if you are struggling with what to be thankful for, remember this verse: Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good; His love endures forever!

 

Blessings and Complete Joy,

Mikki

 

Please check out our new page website format.
On the equip page you will find a monthly memory verse to equip you. On our “His Arrows” page join you will find encouragement to join others who have a heart to pray for their cities.

 

This blog is part of the ministry of Complete Joy and is published each Tuesday and Saturday, usually by noon Pacific Time.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

