Lessons of the Sewing Machine

10 01 2009

 During the Christmas holidays,

I learned the value of letting go of the past.

     sewing-machine

      I used to be an avid crafter. I spent years at my sewing machine making everything from clothes for my children and drapes for my house to potholders to sell at the local bazaar.  I was privileged to have a wonderful Kenmore sewing machine, purchased in 1976, which sewed through everything from the lightest sheer to the heaviest leather.

            Several years ago I had to make a choice either to continue sewing or spend more time doing ministry with people. I chose to quit sewing and gave my machine to my daughter, who also had a passion for sewing.

            Over the last year, I have had several projects I needed a sewing machine to do, so I tried going over to my daughter’s house, but it was tough to get there, and I felt like a bother while I was there. I borrowed the neighbor’s machine and finished a project, but the latest project that taught me something wonderful and beyond my wildest dreams.

            I need to relax and enjoy giving up the past. Instead of going over to the other side of town to borrow my daughter’s machine, I now drive five minutes to borrow my neighbor’s machine and sew at home.  On my friend’s nice new machine that can do all the things I could ever have dreamed of!

 It has been a tough transition, letting go of driving all the way across Portland to use the old machine. But I learned from this experience that God wants us to let go of the past and enjoying the new He has for us!

It is the same in ministry. I can choose to go back to the old group of supporters who are tired and worn out from the battle or I can allow God to bring a new group who are fresh and new together. Sure, we will have to get to know each other, but it will be worth it. Inside of me, for the first time, I can let go in joy, rather than in sorrow — all because of a sewing machine!

 

In the next blog, our lesson from the sewing machine will be about love!

 

Blessings and Complete Joy,

Mikki

 

Please check out our new page website format.
On the equip page you will find a monthly memory verse to equip you. Check out our “His Arrows” page if you have a heart to pray for your city.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
This blog is part of the ministry of Complete Joy and is published each Tuesday and Saturday, usually by noon Pacific Time.
 
Actions

Information

2 responses

11 01 2009
growinginprayer

I’m not sure how I came upon this blog (since I’m so new to WordPress) … but I’m so thankful that I did! I, too, love my sewing machine and learn a number of lessons from it. Thankfully I’ve been able to open an Etsy shop with one of my best friends (we sew knitting bags and have been surprisingly successful on there)…and the lessons God has lead me to learn from this experience have been plenty as well!

Blessings to you – and good for you for letting go!

11 01 2009
completejoy

I am always excited when the Lord reaches out to teach us things about our world which affect our lives. Thanks for your comment, and keep reading. Mikki

Leave a Reply

