Being a great person serving a great God!

14 04 2009
Looking at Yourself from God's perspective!

Looking at Yourself from God's perspective!

 Recently I came face to face with myself once again. I don’t know about you, but when this happens, it sometimes takes me by surprise. But that is how God is. We are comfortable and then all of a sudden, God puts a light on some aspect of our lives.

 

            I am pondering this truth: it is okay to be more then a good person. In fact, it is okay to be a great person because I serve a great God. As I attend a spiritual growth class called The Genesis Process, God brought to light that I have resented myself for a really long time. When I ask Him when it first began, I saw myself, even  as an infant telling myself that I must be a bad person because of the way people were treating me. Abuse was all I knew for the first five years of my life. I went from one abusive situation to another, it didn’t matter if I was with my parents or with a stranger, abuse was always there. No wonder I came to that conclusion.

 

            My resentment has been a motivating factor, an underlying truth, in all I did, but it wasn’t until I was in this class that I took more than a quick glance at the subject of resentment and saw myself.  I see now that my resentment runs like an underlying current in my life, keeping me trapped in the mediocre! Who knew that the resentment I held against myself would trap me in such a profound way? Yet, as I look at my life, it was amazing to see! I concluded that this needed to change.

 

            I can look at my past and make excuses ,or I can take resentment by the horns and get rid of it, and so I did. I renounced my statement that I must be a bad person and have replaced with this truth I am a great person, because I serve a great God! I realized it wasn’t enough to be a good person. Being a daughter of the King gives me the right to walk right into the greatness of the King and stand in his brilliance. As I did, I found that the shame which I have battled has no place in me anymore.

 

            Then, in an unexpected turn of events, I realized that I don’t have to be mediocre anymore. Even though I knew I was a natural leader, I have functioned at the level expected of me, even accepting being told I wasn’t good enough to lead.. I just took the wounding and stayed, yes… mediocre. When I am left alone, I don’t do things that are mediocre. I do things with an excellence that can make others uncomfortable. I usually dumb everything down so I don’t stand out.

 

            It is so wonderful to see that it is okay to be great because I serve a great God, who created the world and everything in it! Good-bye mediocre and hello to the brilliant greatness of God flowing unencumbered through me!

 

Blessings and Complete Joy,

Mildred

 

New on our Release page read a submission by Betty Denney from the Jackson County Prayer Task Force called HAVE FAITH IN GOD. It is a very special piece selected to encourage your faith!
Check out our monthly memory verse on the Equip page as well as a copy of SOAP a bible study method you can copy and print out for yourself.
 
 Intercessors Heart; replaces the often visited Secrets from My Prayer Closet,  where you can read a personal prayer blog, find helpful prayer tips and current prayer opportunities and post your prayer requests to be shared with my intercession team.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
This blog is part of the ministry of Complete Joy and is published each Tuesday and Saturday, usually by noon Pacific Time.
Actions

Information

2 responses

14 04 2009
Slamdunk

Insightful post–Amen and thanks for the read.

14 04 2009
completejoy

Thanks for the encouraging word.

Oh that we would all realize that we are great and marvelous people!

Leave a Reply

