The Drive Thru Lesson

16 05 2009

Drive ThruRecently I found myself going to the drive thru at a Burger King, the home of the Whopper, and as I did, God taught me a profound lesson about being ready to follow him.

 

            As I got up to the window to pay and get my food, I asked the attendant to wait to give me the food until I had counted and put away my money. That didn’t seem like it was a bad thing; I was being a good steward of the money the Lord gives me. Yet as I fussed with getting the money straight in my wallet and putting it away, I was using precious time. It was time all about me, and all about what I wanted and my desire to have money in my wallet ready for the next time I needed it. Then I finally took the bag of food and off I went.

 

            The whole process took less than a minute more than if I had just grabbed the food and took off. Yet as I got ready to turn on to the very busy Division Street, I saw there had been a big opening in the traffic, but because I had fussed with my money, I missed that traffic window. So instead of getting into traffic and being on my way, I had to wait another three minutes for traffic to clear.

            This event got me wondering how often God had something for me to do that I missed because I was fussing with my own stuff. As I sat there waiting for traffic to clear, I asked the Lord to forgive me for fussing and not being ready and available for those opportunities. As I think about it, I remember several opportunities I missed while I was fussing with pens and putting out schedules at church when I should have taken time to talk with someone. If I think about it more, I am sure I can come up with more examples. This simple but important lesson may avail much more fruit in the future than I can imagine as I take my eyes off myself and put them more squarely on the Lord!

 

            I have been surprised at how this simple prayer of repentance has affected me, for I have stopped procrastinating about things that I need to do. I jump in, knowing full well I desire to be ready for every opportunity God provides for me. As I sit here to write this blog, I am facing a deadline, which in the past might have made me very tense, and the stress would have caused me to lose sleep. But I slept great after telling myself I need to remember to get up at 4 a.m. and get the blog to Joy before I jump in the shower to get out the door for the weekend. This new awareness of not wanting to miss any opportunity really has changed my life.

 

            I smile when I think about the missed opening in the traffic there on Division that day. God used it to teach me a life lesson, for I am not as driven, and my perspective about getting things just right has been permanently changed!  I also have a new-found appreciation for those cashiers who take the time to count out the money before me, for they save me precious time and get me on my way!

 

Blessings and Complete Joy,

Mildred

 

New on our Release page read a submission by Betty Denney from the Jackson County Prayer Task Force called HAVE FAITH IN GOD. It is a very special piece selected to encourage your faith!
 
Check out our monthly memory verse on the Equip page as well as a copy of SOAP a bible study method you can copy and print out for yourself.
 
 Intercessors Heart; replaces the often visited Secrets from My Prayer Closet,  where you can read a personal prayer blog, find helpful prayer tips and current prayer opportunities and post your prayer requests to be shared with my intercession team.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
This blog is part of the ministry of Complete Joy and is published each Tuesday and Saturday, usually by noon Pacific Time.
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

