How to Handle an Anxious Night

8 09 2009

insomniaRecently I had one of those anxious nights as I awoke with thoughts about my daughter’s financial situation. Laying there Philippians 4:6 kept coming to mind.  “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.”

 

          I don’t know about you but once in a while it’s all I can do to let go of all the anxieties and stressors of life, to get a good night’s sleep. Lying there I realized I had made a big mistake, because just before we went to bed my daughter called giving us some bad news, and instead of taking it to the Lord as my husband talked about the call  and then went to bed, but I think I needed to take it to the Lord even if my husband didn’t feel the need to do so.

 

          Finally after almost an hour I began taking the situation to the Lord and as I finished the peace of God that Philippians 4:7 speaks of “which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” I wish I could report I then fell off to sleep but that isn’t what happened, but the anxiety was gone and I enjoyed just resting in the Lord.

 

          When I finally got up several hours later, I found myself feeling rested even through I hadn’t gotten my usual 7 hours of sleep. To my surprise I felt a deep sense of joy and I knew the day was going to be great, not because of getting a good night sleep, but because I have a great God who has granted me peace and guards my heart and mind in Christ Jesus!

 

            Has my daughter’s situation change, no; but taking it to the Lord has made all the difference in getting my required rest, and having a peace about the whole situation, so much so that even days later I have no anxiety my daughter’s situation. So may the peace that passes all understand guard your heart and mind in Christ Jesus as you walk through the anxiety and stressors of your day!

 

Blessings and Complete Joy,

Mildred          

 

Check out our monthly memory verse on the Equip page as well as a copy of SOAP a bible study method you can copy and print out for yourself.

 

Intercessors Heart; find helpful prayer tips and current prayer opportunities and post your prayer requests to be shared with my intercession team.

 
Joy Jewelry; Look for newly created jewelry on Monday’s of every week.
 
 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
This blog is part of the ministry of Complete Joy and is published each Tuesday and Saturday, usually by noon Pacific Time.
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

