Stopped Dead in Your Tracks part 1

12 09 2009

Vantage BridgeLet the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful. Col 3:15

 

            While traveling in Washington State I put this scripture into practical application when I blew the engine of my car.

 

            My husband and I had done everything to get the car ready for the trip, including taking the car to the mechanic to be serviced.  As I began the trip I could sense something was wrong with the car, but I put it off to being overly sensitive. Boy was I wrong.

 

            During the second leg of my trip while making a steep climb from the Columbia River up to the plateau floor my car began to act up. There was nothing I could do as I left the Keller Ferry; there were no gas stations in sight, or auto repair shops for miles so my only recourse was to drive. For almost two hours I talked with the Lord and prayed without ceasing as my car sounded worse every mile, while at the same time a peace came over me for in my spirit I knew my car would make it all the way to my destination, so as I arrived I wasn’t the least bit surprised.

 

            Knowing I had an assignment to pray in a blanket of peace over the town, I took my bags out of the car and knowing was so frazzled that all my peace was gone, I set my mind to worship until God restored my peace and joy. I couldn’t allow my situation to dictate my actions Hebrews 12:28 tells us that “since we have received a kingdom that can not be shaken let us be thankful and so worship God acceptably with reverence and awe,” and that is what I chose to do, as I pulled out my worship flags and quietly stepped out side to worship in the back yard.

 

            At first my worship was labored as I wrestled with my feelings of exhaustion and all the fears about my car, and then slowly as I exercised my faith through worship, peace and joy flooded me. I had so much to be thankful for, I wasn’t stuck out on the highway, and I was safe at my host’s home, where people knew and loved me. God had provided so much for me and I was so thankful.

 

I didn’t know the importance of coming to a place of restored peace and joy because the events of this day weren’t over yet!

 

            Please join me next time for, as Paul Harvey would say, the rest of the story!

 

 

Blessings and Complete Joy,

Mildred          

 

Check out our monthly memory verse on the Equip page as well as a copy of SOAP a bible study method you can copy and print out for yourself.

 

Intercessors Heart; find helpful prayer tips and current prayer opportunities and post your prayer requests to be shared with my intercession team.

 
Joy Jewelry; here you can see and purchase fun jewelry and accessories while supporting the ministry of Complete Joy.
 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
This blog is part of the ministry of Complete Joy and is published each Tuesday and Saturday, usually by noon Pacific Time.
Actions

Information

One response

12 09 2009
Lady Carmen

Encouraging words! I’ll have to come back to read “the rest of the story”!

Blessings,
Carmen

Leave a Reply

