Stopped Dead in Your Tracks part 2

15 09 2009

This is the second part of a practical lesson on peace I learned while traveling recently in Washington State.

 PA240017

            Having restored peace and joy, and knowing my host wouldn’t be home for hours, I set about getting my car fixed.  I walked over to the town’s store hoping to get the name of a good mechanic, but instead I left with an extra phone book to find a mechanic. Opening the phone book I looked at a sea of phone numbers and called one who did towing, as well as car repair.  It was now almost 4:30PM and I rejoiced when Dean the owner of the shop agreed to wait for me, so I got into my car to drive the 28 miles into Ellensburg, but this time the farther I drove the worst my car got.

 

            I was so determined to get the car to the shop, but God had other plans, because 10 miles into the drive a long haul trucker pulled over, slowed down in front of me and stopped me dead in my tracks. I could tell my car was done, as then my oil light came on. For a moment I didn’t know what the trucker was going to do, was he going to get out and help me, or was he going to come and rage at me for going so slow, but the driver never got out, he just stopped and then when he saw me begin getting out of my car, he took off.

 

         Two hours before I would have been upset standing there stranded at the side of the road, but with the peace of Christ secure within me I now walked up the side of  highway 90 until I could get cell phone reception to call Dean to tow my car. I also called my host who would now be waiting at the shop to pick me up. God once again had provided for me. So I rejoiced, as I got back in my car to wait for the tow truck and took the opportunity to begin writing this blog.

 

            Sitting there the words of Ephesians 6:13 came to mind, “stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. Stand firm” God had allowed me to be stopped dead in my tracks by an outside force I had no control over, and now my car had overheated and I could go no farther, yet there I sat marveling at God who was reminding me I was not alone, as I got several phone calls sitting in my car. I am still amazed at how calm I was even when I got the call from Dean 30 minutes later asking where I was, because he had been given the wrong mile post.  I knew then nothing would break my peace, not even fear, for God had the victory.

 

            Please join me next time for the final segment of Stopped Dead in Your Tracks, a lesson on peace.

 

Blessings and Complete Joy,

Mildred          

 

Check out our monthly memory verse on the Equip page as well as a copy of SOAP a bible study method you can copy and print out for yourself.

 

Intercessors Heart; find helpful prayer tips and current prayer opportunities and post your prayer requests to be shared with my intercession team.

 
Joy Jewelry; here you can see and purchase fun jewelry and accessories while supporting the ministry of Complete Joy.
 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
This blog is part of the ministry of Complete Joy and is published each Tuesday and Saturday, usually by noon Pacific Time.
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

