Combating Fear

2 10 2010

Recently I gave a two evening talk on: How do those in the Occult see Christians. In the second session our evening centered around 1 John 4:7-18 and afterwards God kept impressing the final two verses deeper and deeper into my life and only later did I realize why.

 

“God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him. In this way, love is made complete among us so that we will have confidence on the day of judgment, because in this world we are like him. There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love”. 1 John 4:16-18

 

       Fear has to do with punishment, how these words are resonating in me these days. I went to the doctor because one of my moles had turned black and the skin around it is inflamed. I had gone to the doctor several months ago about the changes in my moles and learned if one turns black then I need to see you again.

 

       Sitting the morning of the appointment I reflected on how watching my mom go through cancer twice left me with trauma and sadness. I loved my mom and years ago, the second round of cancer killed her.

 

     Then I thought about myself and could see how fear would creep in if I wasn’t alert and on my guard so this passage and specifically “fear has to do with punishment”, was now comforting me. I could walk out of all fear because every sin in my life is under the blood of Christ and it doesn’t matter what happens at the appointment because I can have confidence in God’s plan and I know he isn’t through with me yet!

 

     At the appointment I was told it was not cancer, though the doctor did intend to remove it before it had a chance to become cancerous, to God be the glory!

 

     So the next time you are faced with a challenge, and it scares you, remember you don’t have to walk into fear even if it is calling out to you, because fear has everything to do with punishment and Christ has already paid the price to free you!

 

Blessings and Complete Joy,

Mildred          

Want more encouragement and teaching, visit our blog pages…
 
New Page… On the Radio
       Mildred and her friends can be heard on the radio, both in Portland and on the web, go to On the Radio for more information.
 
Equip; find the complete material for a Journey to Maturity. Check out a copy of SOAP a bible study method you can copy and print out for personal use.
 
Joy Jewelry; please check out current select of Jewelry and accessories and support the ministry of Complete Joy.
 
Complete Joy; find out more about the ministry of Complete Joy.
 
Join us on Twitter at MyCompleteJoy
 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This blog is part of the ministry of Complete Joy and is published each Tuesday and Saturday, usually by noon Pacific Time.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

