Seeing into the Mind of Christ, Psalm 22

15 02 2011

Listening to Psalms 22, the first verse contains the very words Christ spoke as he hung on the cross. “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” and as I read I found myself wondering could these be more than just David’s thoughts and words but also those of Christ?

 

          These words were first recorded by David, an ancestor of Christ, and they also give us insight into the inner dialog of Christ during those final hours of his life. Could Christ have reminded himself that even though men scorn and despised him, hurling insult and shaking their heads, that Christ just as his forefather did, trusted the Lord and affirming that God had made him with the capacity to trust God from conception, giving  him further strength and comfort to finish well.

 

          Hanging on the cross it isn’t hard to see Christ thinking the words recorded in verses 14 -15

 

“I am poured out like water, and all my bones are out of joint.

My heart has turned to wax; it has melted away within me.

My strength is dried up like a potsherd,

and my tongue sticks to the roof of my mouth;

you lay me in the dust of death.”

 

          Verse 18 records another event in the crucifixion: “They divide my garments among them and cast lots for my clothing.” Could Christ have been thinking after they removed his clothing the words recorded in verse 19 “But you, O LORD, be not far off; O my Strength, come quickly to help me.”

 

          I can imagine after Christ looked at Mary his mother and then gave John instructions to care for her, how his thoughts might have wandered to the world and his hopes for his people in verse 23,

 

“You who fear the LORD, praise him!

All you descendants of Jacob, honor him!

Revere him, all you descendants of Israel!”

 

         Then looking at the final verses could Christ have reflected on what the outcome of his sacrifice would be as people turn to the Lord and were reconciled to God. What comfort these thoughts would have given him allowing him in peace to give up his spirit finishing the purpose God had for his life!

 

Psalm 22 gives me a new understanding into the mind of Christ and what types of thoughts should go through my head when I face any trial which might come my way!

              

 

Blessings and Complete Joy,

Mildred          

 

Want more encouragement and teaching, visit our blog pages…
 
Ever wanted to visit Israel…
Visit our Intercessor’s Heart page to find out the most current information on Intercession for the Nations 2012, this trip to Israel and Germany is planned for the spring of 2012.
 
Equip; find the complete material for a Journey to Maturity. Check out a copy of SOAP a bible study method you can copy and print out for personal use.
 
Joy Jewelry; visit our new web store for the most current select of Jewelry and accessories which support the ministry of Complete Joy. http://jewelrywonder.com/joyjewelry
 
Worship Flags; if you are looking for custom worship flags, please check out our new page, I have listed sizes and general prices.
 
Complete Joy; find out more about the ministry of Complete Joy.
 
On the Radio; Mildred and her friends can be heard on the radio, both in Portland and on the web, go to On the Radio for more information.
 
Join us on Twitter at MyCompleteJoy
 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This blog is part of the ministry of Complete Joy and is published each Tuesday and Saturday, usually by noon Pacific Time.

Actions

Information

One response

27 02 2011
scrapebox videos

Hello there! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a team of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on. You have done a outstanding job!

Leave a Reply

