State of Our Faith

3 07 2012

As we bring this series What is wrong with America’s faith to a close, I find myself reminded of several things.

 

Some of the things which influence our faith can be manipulated, like whether we go to church. Yet other things, like if our parents believed in Christ are beyond our control. What our parent believe and their faith gave us a baseline upon which we built our beliefs and our faith.

 

I grew up in a very religious non-Christian family, I learned at an early age there was a deity beyond me, even then I knew two things, this deity they served I did not desire to follow but this baseline of believing and serving a higher power went with me when at age of 17, I accepted Christ.

 

My parents, taught me a very important lesson, to believe in something beyond myself to the core of my being, this is the lesson that many who were born in the 1950’s received, without understand what that something really was.

 

The baseline of everyone’s faith has some sort of flaws because of the human condition. For me it is easy to see identify for my parent’s focus was off, for others it is something else, we can not allow ourselves to be so overwhelmed by what has happened in the past and encumbered by the actions of others that we just surrender our faith all together. We must be like the man who when faced with cancer rises up to overcome it.

 

We have to look at the state of our faith as well as the faith of our nation and rise above the mediocre and the human condition to take a stand for what we believe.

 

Blessings and Complete Joy,

Millie

 

Want more encouragement and teaching, visit our blog pages…
 
Equip; find the complete material for a Journey to Maturity. Check out a copy of SOAP a bible study method you can copy and print out for personal use.
 
If you want to support the ministry of Complete Joy please visit…
 
Our Paypal link: https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=EDNLJ6QRQVTWJ
 
Complete Joy reaches out…
 
On the Radio; Millie and her friends can be heard on the radio, both in Portland and on the web, go to On the Radio for more information.
 
Join us on Twitter at MyCompleteJoy
 
Join us on Facebook at Complete Joy or Joy Jewelry
 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This blog is part of the ministry of Complete Joy and is published each Tuesday and Saturday, usually by noon Pacific Time.

Actions

Information

2 responses

17 07 2012
gold price

The baseline of everyone’s faith has some sort of flaws because of the human condition. For me it is easy to see identify for my parent’s focus was off, for others it is something else, we can not allow ourselves to be so overwhelmed by what has happened in the past and encumbered by the actions of others that we just surrender our faith all together. We must be like the man who when faced with cancer rises up to overcome it.

26 07 2012
silver account

“Mortification” is the act of dying to oneself by killing off the sinful desires of the flesh as taught by St. Paul: Romans 8:13-14 For if you live according to the flesh, you shall die: but if by the Spirit you mortify the deeds of the flesh, you shall live. For whosoever are led by the Spirit of God, they are the sons of God. I Corinthians 9:25-27 And every one that striveth for the mastery refraineth himself from all things. And they indeed that they may receive a corruptible crown: but we an incorruptible one. I therefore so run, not as at an uncertainty: I so fight, not as one beating the air. But I chastise my body and bring it into subjection: lest perhaps, when I have preached to others, I myself should become a castaway. Galatians 5:18-25 But if you are led by the spirit, you are not under the law. Now the works of the flesh are manifest: which are fornication, uncleanness, immodesty, luxury, Idolatry, witchcrafts, enmities, contentions, emulations, wraths, quarrels, dissensions, sects, Envies, murders, drunkenness, revellings, and such like. Of the which I foretell you, as I have foretold to you, that they who do such things shall not obtain the kingdom of God. But the fruit of the Spirit is, charity, joy, peace, patience, benignity, goodness, longanimity, mildness, faith, modesty, continency, chastity. Against such there is no law. And they that are Christ’s have crucified their flesh, with the vices and concupiscences. If we live in the Spirit, let us also walk in the Spirit. Colossians 3:5 Mortify therefore your members which are upon the earth: fornication, uncleanness, lust, evil concupiscence and covetousness, which is the service of idols.

Leave a Reply

