Canopy of Blessings

10 01 2008

 

canopy.jpg

 

This weekend, while I was traveling, the pastor of the church I visited spoke about the canopy of blessings we often walk out of in our lives. This got me to thinking about what blessings are functioning in my home, life and ministry.

            I began praying about those blessings, first concerning my home. As I prayed, the Lord showed me that there are four blessings, words that are stationed at the four corners of my home. In the middle of my home is a scripture which has been foundational since we first moved there.

“As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.” Joshua 24:15. This scripture sits as a center post from which all other blessings in my home flow. I had to struggle for several years to establish this truth in my home. Recently, as we got ready to paint, the  plaque with this verse from Joshua fell as I was removing it from the wall. I thought a lot about whether or not I should put it back up on the wall, then remembered that we have struggle to make this a deep truth in our home and so decided it is okay to show the lumps and bumps that this struggle has cost us.

While talking with friends in the last several months, I have wondered about what other blessings the Lord had for our home. After listening to this pastor, I went home and asked the Lord to reveal this canopy of blessings. Here is what he showed me about my home, which is one of a duplex in a condo complex facing true north, with a southern exposure attached to my neighbor on the west end of our home, while the east end of the home is unattached.                                                                                                                

          I begin where the Lord began with me, at the southeast corner of my home, where both my office and bedroom are. In this corner is Faith. In the southwest corner, which is next to my neighbor, is Hope. In the Northwest corner, still on the neighbor’s end, is Love. These two marvelous blessings surround the living room and kitchen of my home.  On the northeast corner is the word Trust, which is where my husband’s office is.

            I suddenly saw the canopy above my home with these four blessings, yet as I looked, I saw that the trust corner was falling down. I realized then that I was trying to trust my husband in my own strength. It just wasn’t working. As I thought about this, God gave me a scripture: “Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.” Proverbs 3:5-6.  Wow, as I heard this scripture and said, “I can do that,”suddenly the corner was strong and didn’t waver! I was amazed.

            I began looking at the other words and asking the Lord for scriptures for those corners. The words “my hope is in the Lord” came to mind when I asked about Hope. I found a scripture in Isaiah 40:31: “but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength.”  As I inquired about love, it came so quickly: “perfect love casts out all fear.” 1 John 4:18  As I inquired of the Lord about faith, here came; “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” Gal 2:20

As I look even this morning at the canopy of blessing over my home, it is strong and secure as I allow the power of the scripture to keep the canopy poles upright and strong.

God, you are so amazing!

May faith, hope, love and trust grow strong and secure in your homes as well!

Blessings & peace,

Mikki