What Needs to Die?

12 05 2010

The Lord asked me several weeks ago, “What still needs to die?” 

In Hebrews 12:1 we see the value of laying down our preconceived notions and our human understanding to grasp what God has in store for us.

 

HEB 12:1-3 Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.  Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.

 

As I wrestling before the Lord with controlling what I could see and my fear of losing my sight, I found Him sharing a promise. “You can have as far as your eyes can see,” I heard in my spirit and with this promise I found myself wishing for eyes in the back of my head.

 

Still in the spirit, I could sense Jesus say, “You do have eyes in the back of your head, for with your spiritual eyes you can see 360 degrees.” And he went on, “With your spiritual eyes you can see everything and so everything is within your grasp.” At that moment, my relying on human sight died as I chose to see more clearly and completely with my spiritual eyes to run the race God has marked out for me.  

 

Days later, I am still profoundly changed by this realization of what needed to die. I pray with greater intensity (if that is possible) then before because with spiritual eyes I see more completely, which then activates my faith to believe in the depth of God’s plans and purposes.

 

Blessings and Complete Joy,

Mildred          

Want more encouragement and teaching, visit our blog pages…
 
Equip; find the complete material for a Journey to Maturity. Check out our monthly memory verse as well as a copy of SOAP a bible study method you can copy and print out for yourself.
 
Intercessors Heart; read my on going prayer journal.
 
Joy Jewelry; please check out current select of Jewelry and accessories and support the ministry of Complete Joy.
 
Complete Joy; find out more about the ministry of Complete Joy.
 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This blog is part of the ministry of Complete Joy and is published each Tuesday and Saturday, usually by noon Pacific Time.